First Days of School

My son Daniel is starting school on September 1st, and it will mark one of the first major milestones of his life. School bags and uniforms have been bought and tried on in preparation. He is all prepared, ready to go conquer the world of the playground, but I have having some trouble coming to terms with it. I can’t be the only one though, as the parents association in the school are putting on a special coffee morning for deserted and desolate parents.

I have tried to focus on preparation and what needs to be done before school starts – it turns out there isn’t actually that much to do. The visions of me stitching crests on jumpers and covering books have evaporated, and in their place I have come up with the following to do list for myself to keep myself sane.

  1. Trying not to worry too much – I am not planning on actually achieving this one, but I would be happy with some steps towards it. No one needs the mammy wiping snot off your face at the school gates. New mantra, he will be fine, he will be fine, he will be fine. Said internally of course. At home. Crying to myself.
  2. Plan ahead – The route has been timed, the first few weekends planned, lunches already imagined. I’m not thinking that it will all flow smoothly and effortlessly but the energy that I have put into the planning has taken my mind off the worrying.
  3. Enjoy it! – This is a magical time in childhood and life, before the stresses and strains of school life kick in and it starts to get serious. I am looking forward to hunting for leaves for the nature table and colouring in for homework, it is bringing back precious and lovely memories of this time in my own life. This has been unexpected but rather lovely.
  4. Make the most of the weekends – Writing this in the summer holidays, the challenge has been to keep every occupied enough to stay on the safe side of sane. The opposite will be the case once term starts with the converse being the problem, so much to do in so little time!

I wish my son all the best in his new adventures, and I have no doubt that he will meet any challenges head on. And I will be having that cup of tea on that first Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

