Time flies…

My Fathers Anniversary is on the 1st of December, and marks the passing of the first year that I have spent on the earth without him. It was a year that saw me enter journalism after many many years of talking about it, and re-launch myself as a writer. This I could not have done without the support and love of my family and friends who I would now like to thank for being there for me.

Over the course of the year, with the wound that is grief lying open and exposed, I would like to take a moment to thank the people who I encountered who by their generosity of spirit and kindness gave me a renewed perspective on things, and a new energy to move forward.

Trek4life Event

I did not know what the Trek4life event was when I saw it on twitter, but it was for the Irish Cancer Society and sort of something that I would be interested. It turned out to be a turning point for me. Presentations from journalists, bloggers and industry experts all led to the same conclusion. Just do it. An eventful day, I also met the two Niamhs, Niamh Martin of  Nima Brush and Niamh Hogan of Holos Skincare who not only provided me with good company but an endless supply of, entrepreneurial inspiration. I spent most of the day trying not to sit their with my mouth hung open as they traded hints and tips… I left feeling energized, feeling like if it all didn’t work out, at least I would have tried. I did sit through Ciamh McRory’s presentation blinking slowly when she threw out the notion of setting goals… still working on that but it has gone from, getting published to getting paid… progress? It was an unusual event in that the atmosphere was an all consuming one of comradery, empowerment and positivity. It certainly changed things for me.
Stevie Nicks
My father loved  Fleetwood Mac, and my lovely husband bought the tickets for me last Christmas. I knew I would be emotional at the concert, however I didn’t foresee the torrent of tears that literally erupted. I’m not much of a crier in general, turns out I save it for concerts… Anyways, before they played gypsy, Stevie Nicks, my all time hero, told us a little story about the first few lines of the song and about how to follow your dream if you have one and stay true to yourself. She recalled how she felt things changed for her before they got famous. It moved me and has inspired me to stick at writing when it has been rejection after rejection. And it has been mostly rejection, but I listen to gypsy now and smile. It was an odd night, as part of their worldwide sold out string of concerts where no one could get tickets for love nor money, I managed to have an empty seat beside me for the entire gig. I can only hope that if it was dad, that he was doing some serious dad dancing. Gypsy available here
Anywoo, I have decided to stay writing and see where it takes me… As dad would say himself, its a long way to the top if you want to rock and roll. And I want to rock and roll. Dad dancing optional, but encouraged here
2 thoughts on “Time flies…

  1. Ah this is beautiful. I know myself that it can hit you at the weirdest of moments –
    the thought of the person never just pops into your head…it more hits you like a freight train and knocks the breath (and the tears!!) out of you.
    There’s comfort in the fact that in those little moments where you think about them that you still feel as if they’re close by 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

