Listography – Songs that transport me to a particular time and place

Music has always played a massive role in my life, from listening to playing to performing. When I saw Kate Takes 5’s listography I decided that it was going to be really easy to come up with five songs that bring me back to important moments in my life. Turns out it is actually pretty hard, but also an enjoyable process so here is my list!

  1. Hot Love – T Rex
This is one of my all time favorite songs, and was played at our wedding – but as a conga line. The band, the Glitterbugs (a glam rock tribute band) managed to time it so that the entirety of the wedding reception was on the dance floor for the bridge, la la la la la la… and I thought the roof was going to come. I have the best memories of that night, and it was the high point of the best night of my life
My father passed away last year and he was the biggest Bruce Springsteen fan, perhaps maybe in the world, but definitely in Ireland. We went to see him a few times together and this song reminds of the two of us singing our hearts out and breaking out the dad dancing. Truly one of the happiest moments of my life.
The first time my husband and I went away, we went to Paris. We had a blast, and whilst racking up an obscene bar bill in a fascinating little jazz club we slow danced to this song and it was the first time he told me that he loved me. That sounds very romantic, but the conversation did go along the following lines
‘Mumble mumble’
‘what?’
Mumble mumble’
‘what???’
‘Mumble mumble’
‘WHAT???’
‘I BLEEDING LOVE YA!!!!’
‘I COULDN’ T BLEEDIN HEAR YA! I LOVE YOU TOO!’
The Exploited are a hardcore punk band from Scotland, and one of my all time favorite bands. My older brother loved them, and I also did.  It takes me straight back to listening to it on the floor in my brothers room on vinyl, talking anarchy, social upheaval and all things revolution. This song is the title track from the film Made Britain, and encapsulates for me the spirit of punk music and the social context from which it was formed. I don’t think it was a massive leap for me to then go and study sociology…
I don’t think this is REM’s finest work, but it reminds of the period in the early 90’s where Dublin was becoming a really exciting place to be and emerging from the misery of the 80’s. It reminds me of dart trips into town, Temple Bar to get Dr Martens for my older brothers, Ray D’arcy on the Den, Glenroe on Sunday nights…. happy times, with an air of excitement about the place. It was also the song that was on when gave birth to my daughter. It holds a special place in my heart.
8 thoughts on “Listography – Songs that transport me to a particular time and place

  1. Brilliant. Absolutely love this. Your Paris memory made me laugh out loud – still romantic I say! Must look up The Exploited – never heard of them before, and your REM memories brought me right back to all of those things too. Top post thank you!

    Like

  2. Brilliant, I had REM too! And I was trying to remember what the song was, Cry Me a River, but embarrassingly mine was the Justin Timberlake version. But I did have some Nina!

    Like

  3. This is a great idea.
    I must work on my list but ones that are flying into my head are:

    1. Rock DJ – Robbie Williams: reminds me of being 15 or 16 in the nightclub in Ballybunion and feeling brilliant, free and full of fun (or westcoast cooler!)

    2. My favorite game – the cardigans : My driving fast song that if I was eventually to become a top driver in an extremely fast formula that this would become my theme tune.

    3. Bullet with Butterfly Wings – Smashing Pumpkins: Teenage years of loud music, and thinking I was the bees knees with my purple hair and Kurt Cobain t-shirt.

    4. I won’t back down – Tom Petty: General life anthem and first concert with Niall.

    5. Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen: No explanation needed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

