Objects of me….

When I saw this blog linky on Awfully Chipper http://awfullychipper.com/2016/06/09/objects-blog-link/ I loved it and knew that I wanted to do my own list!

It got me to thinking then, what are the objects of me that my children will think of when they think of me – I could do one for my own parents in five seconds, but my own proved more challenging than I thought.

Here is my best attempt…

image1

I bought these when I was 19 and they cost me a whole weeks work. 12 years later though, and they have proved themselves a good buy! Comfy, sturdy and a little awkward to drive in, they are a large part of my make up and I rarely venture out in winter without them.

image5

That was winter – this is summer. I don’t have prescription sunglasses on account of their cost and my clumsiness, but I always have aviators (well, River Islands best version) Here is me in my latest, an iconic design that I cannot exist without.

image4

While most people who know me are probably surprised that this post isn’t just five pairs of my favourite shoes – I did have to limit myself to two out of five. These are my pointe shoes and have a special significance for me as they are from when I went back to ballet as an adult and very proudly was able to go back on pointe and perform on stage with the same ballet company that I was in as a child. Rock on.

image3

Perhaps one of my greatest secrets is that I am a hopeless nerd and adore nerd paraphernalia in all its forms. I just love this phrenology head that my husband gifted me last Christmas, it is science at its best.

image2

I love angels and have them dotted around the house, not too many mind, I don’t want the place to look like a shrine. I love the idea that no matter how alone you feel, there is always someone with you. I like to keep them around to remind me of that.

IMG_0118

This is Lotso, he lives in my bed as I still sleep with a teddy bear. Yes you just read that right. I know I’m not the only one! I know he’s really evil, I’ve seen the movie, but he smells of strawberries and is really soft. My husband bought him for me for valentines day, when I was pregnant and we were in Disneyland with our eldest. It always reminds me of that time.

 

4 thoughts on “Objects of me….

  1. Lovely list, I love that you have two pairs of shoes featuring but they couldn’t be more different. You must be quite a diverse person and I’m impressed by your ability to go ‘on pointe’! And of course, I really love your phrenology head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve only just realised that now, they quite opposite ends of the spectrum!! I think it took him quite a few odd google searches to find as he couldn’t quite remember the name of it…. πŸ˜†

      Like

  2. A pair of shoes that’s lasted 12 years? I must know the brand! And what a lovely list. I’m off to look up phrenology now….

    Like

Leave a Reply

